IFFK at 20: Festival, winners to get worthy send-off

Thiruvananthapuram, Dec 10: The curtains will come down on the 20th edition of the International Film Festival of Kerala (IFFK) tomorrow, bringing an end to the eight-day extravaganza of cinema and artistic expression.

 The hour-long closing ceremony scheduled to begin at 6pm at Nishagandhi auditorium will be presided over by Honourable Governor Justice Shri P. Sathasivam, the guest of honour, who will present the night’s awards to the winning films, makers as also other recipients.

The function will be attended by a host of official dignitaries, including minister for cinema Shri Thiruvanchoor Radhakrishnan, minister for health Shri V.S. Sivakumar, leader of the Opposition (Kerala) Shri V.S. Achuthanandan, secretary (Cultural Affairs) Smt. Rani George and Shri K. Muralidharan (MLA).

Smt. Rani George will deliver the welcome speech, followed by addresses by Shri. K. Muralidharan and Shri.V.S.Achuthanandan. The presidential address will be delivered by Shri.Thiruvanchoor Radhakrishnan. Shri V.S. Sivakumar will make the keynote address.

Iconic Iranian filmmaker Shri Dariush Mehrjui will then be honoured with the prestigious Lifetime Achievement Award winner. Mehrjui, the spearhead of Iran’s cinematic renaissance, will later present the Film Employees Federation of Kerala’s (FEFKA) inaugural ‘Master’s award’ to avant garde Malayalam filmmaker K.G. George.

The award for lifetime achievement carries a cash prize of Rs 10 lakh, a memento and an official citation.

Kerala State Chalachitra Academy (KSCA) chairman Shri T. Rajivnath will invite, in order, the international competition jury, the jury from the International Federation of Film Critics (FIPRESCI) and Network for the Promotion of Asian Cinema (NETPAC) jury to the dais, with the guest of honour handing out the awards to the winners in the respective categories.

Two awards for best theatre – one each for technical performance and aesthetic quality – will be presented next. The final award category of the evening will be four prizes given for the best reportage across as many mediums: print, television, online and radio.

Honourable Governor Justice Shri P. Sathasivam will then deliver a short address followed by a vote of thanks from KSCA secretary Shri S. Rajendran Nair.

After the Governor leaves, the best film in International competition will be screened. The films chosen by the FIPRESCI and NETPAC juries will be shown at Tagore Theatre and Kalabhavan respectively after a live telecast of the function at these venues.

Designed and Developed by MD Niche's own Website Ninjas