Kerala State Tourism announces 2013-14 awards

Thiruvananthapuram, Aug 21: Kochi-based Intersight Tours and Travels took the award for the Best Inbound Tour Operator to Kerala, as the 2013-14 State Tourism Awards were announced today.

The winners for Best Three Star, Four Star and Five Star Hotels are Alappuzha’s Marari Beach, Kovalam-based Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel and Spa and the Kumarakom Lake Resort respectively. The Raviz Hotel’s Leela Kovalam is the Best Five Start Deluxe Hotel. Coconut Lagoon in Kumarakom won for Best Heritage Hotel.

The winners, for the 27 awards in three categories, were selected by a jury chaired by the Tourism Secretary from a short list drawn up by an expert committee.

Somatheeram Ayurvedic Beach Resort bagged the Best Approved & Classified Ayurvedic Centre title. The Best Approved & Classified House Boat Operator is Rainbow Cruises, while the Best Approved & Classified Homestay is Coconut Creek Farm and Homestay in Kumarakom and the Best Approved & Classified Serviced Villa is Munnar’s British County.

Kovalam Vivanta by Taj’s Mathew C Thomas is the Best Hotel Manager. The Best Tourism/Hotel Management Institute is Oriental School of Hotel Management, Wayanad.

Mathrubhumi Yathra’s senior sub editor G Jyothilal took the prize for the Best Tourism Related Report in print media, while Mathrubhumi newspaper’s senior news photographer C Biju won for Best Photography in the Tourism Sector. Green Leaf was selected as Best Tourism Related Magazine.

The Waterworld Live Museum at the Main Boat Jetty in Ernakulam is the Most Innovative Project in Tourism, while the Somatheeram Ayurveda Group won for the Most Innovative use of IT in Tourism.

Ourland Island Backwater Resort in Punnapra has been recognised for Best Practices in the field of Responsible Tourism. Kochi’s Kalypso Adventures won for Best Adventure Tourism Operator.  Tirur’s PPTMYHSS Cherur won for Best Tourism Club, while Abdul Hameed of the same school won for Best Teacher Coordinator of Tourism Club. Danish C from Malappuram’s MUA College took the title of Best Student Coordinator of Tourism Club.

Sanal Kumar A G from Paravur and Ganeshan S from Alappuzha are Best Tourism Police, while Virjin S from Thiruvananthapuram and Charlson P from Kannur are Best Tourism Lifeguard.

Kannur’s Ajayakumar N R is the Best Tourism Guide. The Best Tourism Destination is Wonder La in Kochi.

This year, a new certificate of recognition for a new initiative among service providers was announced. That went to Malappuram’s Teak Town Serviced Villa.

Designed and Developed by MD Niche's own Website Ninjas