In a first, Sports Council organises Kerala State Central Schools Sports Meet

Two-day sports meet to begin on January 30

Thiruvananthapuram, Jan. 25: The two-day sports meet for students of CBSE, Kendriya Vidyalaya, ICSE and Jawahar Navodaya schools will be held at the Chandrasekharan Nair Stadium here from January 30.

The first edition of such an event bringing together budding talents from over 1,500 schools in Kerala is organised by the Kerala State Sports Council.

Chief Minister Pinarayi Vijayan will inaugurate the Kerala State Central Schools Sports Meet at 6pm on January 30.

Competitions will be held in Under-14 and Under-17 categories for girls and boys. Winners will be awarded with medals and certificates. Apart from Best Athlete and Team Championship trophies in each category, there will be Overall Championship for the winning team.

Best Performance trophy will be given to the best team in the March Past during the inaugural day. 

Competitions will begin on January 30 at 7.30am. The valedictory function and prize distribution will be held on January 31 at 4pm.

There are 1,320 CBSE schools, 167 ICSE schools, 14 Jawahar Navodaya schools and 40 Kendriya Vidyalayas in Kerala, where the curriculum is based on Central School syllabus.

“As many as 14 lakh children are studying in these institutions. Government school students are able to take part in national school competitions. Unlike them, these students are not getting the exposure they deserve in the sports field. This is the first-of-its-kind initiative in the country to bring these children also in the limelight,” said Shri. T.P. Dasan, President, Kerala Sports Council.

He noted that he expect other States would also take a cue from this initiative. Only athletics has been included in the inaugural meet and more games will be added in the coming years. 

As a prelude to the event, District Sports Meet was conducted in all 14 districts. “Management schools and students actively participated in the event. The first, second and third prize winners in the district-level meet will represent their respective districts in the State-level meet. 

The relay school teams, who won in the district-level, will represent their districts in the State-level meet. 

Shri. Sanjayan Kumar IFS, Secretary, Kerala Sports Council; Dr. Indira Rajan, State Secretary, CBSE Management Association; Shri. G. Rajmohan, Treasurer, Organising Committee; and D. Mohanan, Convener, Organising Committee, among others were also present at the press conference. 

Designed and Developed by MD Niche's own Website Ninjas